KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Pixies confirm release of Indie Cindy, their first studio album in two decades

The Pixies have confirmed details of their first studio album since 1991’s Trompe le Monde. Released in late April (23 April in Japan, 28 April in UK/Europe and 29 April in North America), Indie Cindy will be made available via the band’s own independent label, Pixiesmusic.

With co-founder Kim Deal having left the band last year, the new album was created by Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering, with help from long-time producer Gil Norton, who worked on Doolittle, Bossanova and Trompe le Monde. Artwork for the LP will be provided by graphic artist Vaughan Oliver who created the artwork for the band’s previous records.

The album was recorded in October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales and includes the band’s comeback single Bagboy, and material from EP-1 and EP-2, as well as three new songs from EP-3, which will be available from the band’s website at 4.30pm today.

It has been a turbulent year for the Pixies. After original bassist Kim Deal left the group six days into the recording of the new material, the band hired Kim Shattuck of the Muffs to replace her temporarily. However, her time with the Pixies was cut short. The band are now touring with bassist Paz Lenchantin, a bassist who has played with Zwan, A Perfect Circle and the Entrance Band.

“We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,” Pixies drummer David Lovering explained. “New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new. So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

Indie Cindy will be available in a number of different formats from the end of April, including a standard 12-track single-CD; a two-disc, gatefold album pressed on 180-gram vinyl; and an expanded digital download available exclusively through iTunes that includes a bonus 13-track set recorded during the band’s recent North American tour. Indie Cindy also gets a Record Store Day release in the form of a limited edition two-disc, deluxe gatefold release on 19 April.

Visit for more details.

Track listing:

What Goes Boom
Greens and Blues
Indie Cindy
Magdalena 318
Silver Snail
Blue Eyed Hexe
Ring the Bell
Another Toe in the Ocean
Andro Queen
Jaime Bravo
Track listing for Live in the USA (feat Lenchantin on bass):

Bone Machine
Magdalena 318
Indie Cindy
I’ve Been Tired
Head On
The Sad Punk
Distance Equals Rate Times Time
Something Against You
Isla de Encanta
Planet of Sound