KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Purity Ring, METZ, More Make Polaris Prize Short List

The long list has been whittled down, and today, the short list has been announced for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize. The honor for best album of the year by a Canadian artist could go to nominees including Purity Ring’s Shrines, Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, Metz’s Metz, Metric’s Synthetica, Tegan and Sara’s Heartthrob, Colin Stetson’s New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light, Young Galaxy’s Ultramarine, and others. Mac DeMarco, Daphni, Majical Cloudz, and Rhye were among the long list artists that were snubbed. The winner will be announced at the Polaris Gala on September 23. Last year’s award went to Feist for Metals. The prize winner is selected by a large panel of Canadian journalists and broadcasters. The winner receives $30,000.