KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

THE POSTAL SERVICE CONFIRM MORE DATES DUE TO POPULAR DEMAND


With over a dozen shows and counting already sold out-including the Greek Theater in Berkeley, CA and New York’s Barclays Center Arena where second dates have been added by popular demand-The Postal Service has announced another series of additions to the tour commemorating the April 9 release of its Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition) on Sub Pop.

The new dates on The Postal Service’s first headline tour in decade include stops in Austin TX, Pomona CA, Kansas City MO, at St. Paul MN, as well as an appearance at the Free Press Fest in Houston TX. Dates that have already completely sold out–in addition to the aforementioned first nights in New York and Berkeley–now include London, Manchester, Reno NV, Davis CA, San Luis Obispo CA, Boise ID, Orlando FL, Las Vegas, Detroit and more on the way.

The Postal Service 10th anniversary tour will reunite Postal Service principals Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello with Jenny Lewis (Jenny & Johnny, Rilo Kiley), who appeared on the original album and played with the band on its 2003 dates. Lewis also sings on the two new songs on Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition). Laura Burhenn (Mynabirds, Bright Eyes) rounds out the 2013 touring lineup.

Meanwhile, rare Postal Service audition footage dating back to 2002 has been unearthed and can finally be viewed at www.funnyordie.com. The never before seen tryouts include a genre-defying group of hopefuls ranging from Duff McKagan of Guns N Roses and Nate Mendel of Foo Fighters to Moby, Aimee Mann and others all vying for a the coveted Postal Service lead singer gig–and each doing his or her level best not to choke in the presence of Tamborello and Sub Pop A&R.

Give Up was certified platinum last year just shy of 10 years from its original February 9, 2003 release. Led by the single “Such Great Heights,” the landmark album is, after Nirvana’s Bleach, the second-biggest selling album in Sub Pop’s nearly 25-year history.

THE POSTAL SERVICE: Live 2013

04/09/13 Tue – Reno NV @ Grand Sierra Theatre (SOLD OUT) *
04/10/13 Wed – Davis CA @ Mondavi Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/12/13 Fri – San Luis Obispo CA @ Madonna Expo Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/13/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
04/15/13 Mon — Pomona CA @ Fox Theater *
04/18/13 Thu – Phoenix AZ @ Comerica Theatre **
04/19/13 Fri – Las Vegas NV @ Chelsea Ballroom at the Cosmopolitan (SOLD OUT)**
04/20/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
05/18/13 Sat – Manchester UK @ Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/19/13 Sun – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/20/13 Mon – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/21/13 Tues – Paris FR @ Trianon ***
05/23/13 Thu – Barcelona SP @ Primavera Sound 2013
05/27/13 Mon – Sasquatch Music Festival, George, WA (SOLD OUT)
05/28/13 Tues – Boise ID @ Knitting Factory (SOLD OUT)
05/29/13 Weds – Magna UT @ Saltair
05/30/13 Thu – Morrison CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater
06/01/13 Sat — Houston TX @ Free Press Summer Fest
06/02/13 Sun — Cedar Park TX @ Cedar Park
06/03/13 Mon – Grand Prairie TX @ Verizon Theater
06/05/13 Wed – Orlando FL @ Hard Rock Live (SOLD OUT)
06/06/13 Thu – Atlanta GA @ Fox Theater
06/07/13 Fri – Raleigh NC @ Red Hat Amphitheater
06/08/13 Sat – Columbus OH @ LC Pavilion
06/10/13 Mon – Detroit MI @ Fillmore Detroit (SOLD OUT)
06/11/13 Tues – Toronto ON @ Air Canada Centre
06/12/13 Wed – Boston MA @ Bank of America Pavilion
06/14/13 Fri – New York NY @ Barclays Center (SOLD OUT)
06/15/13 Sat – New York NY @ Barclays Center
06/17/13 Mon – Philadelphia PA @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts
06/18/13 Tue – Columbia MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion
07/16/13 Tues – Vancouver BC @ Rogers Arena
07/17/13 Wed – Portland OR @ Rose Garden Arena
07/26/13 Fri – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater (SOLD OUT)
07/27/13 Sat – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater
07/31/13 Wed — Kansas City MO @ Midland Theater
08/02/13 Thu — St. Paul MN @ Roy Wilkins Auditorium

* Baths support
** YACHT supports
*** Stealing Sheep supports