KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

The Strokes Reveal More Album Details

An article in the upcoming issue of Rolling Stone features some new information about the Strokes’ forthcoming album, now with a confirmed release date of March 22 via RCA. The album is tentatively titled Angles, and the first single from the ten-song LP will most likely be “Undercover of Darkness”.

Strokes guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. tells Rolling Stone that the album title represents “what the record sounds like. It comes from five different people,” meaning that all of the members of the band contributed to the songwriting process. Other song titles mentioned include “Life Is Simple”, “Taken for a Fool”, “Call Me Back”, “Radio Minor Madness”, and “Machu Picchu”, which Rolling Stone describes as “a rough wall of jangle over a hip-hop grind, as if the Strokes are cutting a Jay-Z track via the Rolling Stones’ Aftermath.”

The majority of the album was recorded at Hammond’s studio in upstate New York, following scrapped sessions with producer Joe Chiccarelli (White Stripes, the Shins). “Life Is Simple” is the sole surviving song from the Chiccarelli sessions.

The band has plans to tour later this year, but Hammond emphasizes to Rolling Stone that “we want to come back strong but slowly, so we can grow live and also make new music. We want to release albums quicker.”