KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

MGMT Unveil Congratulations Track List, Release Date

After months of rumors, speculation, and at least one red carpet interview, MGMT have finally confirmed the official track list and release date for their second album, Congratulations. According to Andrew Vanwyngarden, the new album will “shock people,” as he and bandmate Ben Goldwasser “dropped any sort of irony that was on the first record.”

All this news comes from tonight’s article posted by Spin magazine, in which Vanwyngarden also revealed that though influences include Lady Gaga and the “worldwide economic crisis,” the album’s biggest theme is—I kid you not—surfing:

When you’re surfing, there’s a specific break you’re paddling to. And when the waves are really good you say, “it’s working.” The song kind of has a surf-y vibe. It’s like surfing on ecstasy!

Oh my, imagine all the “surfing on ecstasy” you could buy with a 6-figure deal! Release date? April 13, via Columbia Records. Tracklist? Here:

1) “It’s Working”
2) “Song for Dan Treacy”
3) “Someone’s Missing”
4) “Flash Delirium”
5) “I Found a Whistle”
6) “Siberian Breaks”
7) “Brian Eno”
8) “Lady Dada’s Nightmare”
9) “Congratulations”