KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Leonard Cohen To Release First Album Since 2004

Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Leonard Cohen will release “Live in London,” his first new album in five years, on March 31. The set was culled from his July 17, 2008 performance at London’s 02 Arena during his world tour last year.

The 26-track “Live in London,” which will be available both as a double-disc CD and DVD, includes Cohen classics like “If It Be Your Will,” “I’m Your Man” and “Hallelujah.” It is the Canadian singer/songwriter’s first release since 2004’s “Dear Heather” and his first live album in eight years.

The track “Suzanne” is streaming exclusively at beginning today and the whole album is available for pre-order. He has previously released three other live albums: “Live Longs” in 1972, “Cohen Live” in 1994 and “Field Commander Cohen: Tour of 1979” in 2001.

Cohen’s 2008 international tour, his first stint in over a dozen years, moved more than 700,000 tickets over 84 concerts. As previously reported, he is currently scheduled to play to a sold-out crowd at New York’s Beacon Theatre on Feb. 19, his first U.S. concert in 15 years.

Cohen, who was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame last year, has also been in the spotlight recently thanks to “X Factor” winner Alexandra Burke’s cover of “Hallelujah.” The U.K. newcomer scored the country’s Christmas No. 1 and the biggest-selling single of 2008 with her version, which sold 888,000 copies in two weeks, according to the Official Charts Co. Meanwhile, Jeff Buckley’s version rocketed to No. 2 the week ending Dec. 21, 2008 when Burke debuted at No. 1, while Cohen’s original was at No. 36.

Here is the track list for “Live in London”:

Disc 1

“Dance Me To The End Of Love “
“The Future”
“Ain’t No Cure For Love”
“Bird On The Wire”
“Everybody Knows”
“In My Secret Life”
“Who By Fire”
“Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye”
“Tower Of Song”
“The Gypsy’s Wife”

Disc 2

“Boogie Street”
“I’m Your Man”
“Recitation w/ N.L.”
“Take This Waltz”
“So Long, Marianne”
“First We Take Manhattan”
“Sisters Of Mercy”
“If It Be Your Will”
“Closing Time”
“I Tried To Leave You”
“Wither Thou Goest”
(via billboard)