KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Jesus & Mary Chain Reveal Box Set

The long-awaited Jesus & Mary Chain boxed set is finally set for release Sept. 30 via Rhino.

The four-disc “The Power of Negative Thinking: B-Sides & Rarities” is presented in chronological order and offers a host of previously unreleased tracks, including the “Psychocandy”-era “Walk and Crawl,” alternate versions of “Never Understand” and “Coast to Coast,” demos of “My Little Underground,” “The Living End” and “Dirty Water” and the never-before-heard “Till I Found You.”

The box also sports 19 of the 20 rarities previously released on the 1988 compilation “Barbed Wire Kisses,” and a cassette-sourced 1983 recording of “Up Too High.”

The packaging for “Negative Thinking” is a 6-by-10 gatefold shell and includes an 18-by-24 double-sided poster featuring artwork and a Jesus & Mary Chain family tree.

Meanwhile, work continues on the band’s first new studio album in a decade, a release date for which has yet to be announced.

Here is the track list for “The Power of Negative Thinking”:

Disc one:
“Up Too High”
“Upside Down”
“Vegetable Man”
“Just Out of Reach”
“Boyfriend’s Dead”
“Just Like Honey” (demo, October 1984)
“Taste of Cindy” (acoustic)
“The Hardest Walk”
“Never Understand” (alternate)
“My Little Underground” (demo)
“The Living End” (demo)
“Some Candy Talking”
“Cut Dead” (acoustic)
“You Trip Me Up” (acoustic)
“Walk and Crawl”

Disc two:
“Kill Surf City”
“Bo Diddle Is Jesus”
“Who Do You Love”
“Everything’s Alright When You’re Down”
“Happy When It Rains” (demo)
“Happy Place”
“F. Hole”
“On the Wall” (demo)
“Surfin’ USA” (outtake)
“Here It Comes Again”
“Don’t Ever Change”
“Surfin’ USA” (summer mix)
“Break Me Down”
“My Girl”

Disc three:
“In the Black”
“Terminal Beach”
“Deviant Slice”
“I’m Glad I Never”
“Drop” (acoustic remix)
“Tower of Song”
“Why’d You Want Me”
“Teenage Lust” (acoustic version)
“Reverberation (Doubt)”
“Don’t Come Down”
“Something I Can’t Have”
“Write Record Release Blues”
“Little Red Rooster”

Disc four:
“The Perfect Crime”
“Little Stars”
“Drop” (re-recorded version)
“I’m in With the Out Crowd”
“New York City”
“Taking It Away”
“Ghost of a Smile”
“Alphabet Street”
“Coast to Coast” (alternate take)
“Dirty Water” (alternate take)
“Till I Found You”
“Bleed Me”
“33 1/3”
“Lost Star”
“Hide Myself”
“Easylife, Easylove”