KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Springsteen Unveils New Songs At New Jersey Warm-Up

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band played their first show in three years last night (Sept. 24) at Asbury Park, N.J.’s intimate Convention Hall, which served as a warm-up for a fall tour that begins Oct. 2 in Hartford, Conn. Seven songs were premiered from the album “Magic,” which also lands Oct. 2 via Columbia.

At the outset, Springsteen told the crowd the band would be offering up “a few new ones, a few old ones, maybe a few mistakes, but I doubt it.” Among the new album cuts performed were first single “Radio Nowhere,” “Gypsy Biker,” “Girls in Their Summer Clothes,” “Devil’s Arcade” and “Last To Die.”

Set list oddities included the vintage outtake “Thundercrack,” which started the encore, “Something in the Night” and “American Land,” a song from Springsteen’s Seeger Sessions band that the E Streeters were playing live for the first time.

Springsteen and company will play Asbury Park again tonight and have just announced a third rehearsal show for Friday at Continental Airlines Arena in East Rutherford, N.J. Tickets go on sale this morning.

Here is Bruce Springsteen’s set list:

“Radio Nowhere”
“No Surrender”
“Gypsy Biker”
“Empty Sky”
“Something in the Night”
“Girls in Their Summer Clothes”
“The Promised Land”
“Livin’ in the Future”
“Devil’s Arcade”
“Candy’s Room”
“She’s the One”
“Lonesome Day”
“My Hometown”
“The Rising”
“Last To Die”
“Long Walk Home”

“Born To Run”
“Darlington County”
“American Land”