KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Vedder, Sonic Youth, Tweedy Do Dylan For Soundtrack

A host of rock notables have banded together for the soundtrack to Todd Haynes’ Bob Dylan-themed film “I’m Not There,” due Oct. 30 via Columbia. More than 30 tracks have been recorded for what is intended to be a double-disc set, including songs from Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder, Stephen Malkmus, Cat Power, Yo La Tengo, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy and X’s John Doe.

“I’m Not There” features six different actors, including Cate Blanchett, Heath Ledger, Richard Gere and Christian Bale, portraying Dylan at various points in his career. The film opens Nov. 21 in U.S. theaters.

A number of tracks feature backing from the Million Dollar Bashers, which was assembled by Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo and also features that band’s Steve Shelley on drums, Television guitarist Tom Verlaine, Wilco guitarist Nels Cline, guitarist Smokey Hormel, keyboardist John Medeski and Dylan bassist Tony Garnier.

Among the most intriguing songs are Dylan’s own “I’m Not There,” a rarity from “The Basement Tapes” era, as well as Sonic Youth’s version of the same track. Vedder fronts the Million Dollar Bashers for “All Along the Watchtower,” while Malkmus takes the mic with the group on “Ballad of a Thin Man” and “Maggie’s Farm.” Fellow Matador artist Cat Power covers Dylan’s “Stuck Inside of Mobile With Memphis Blues Again,” which will not appear on her upcoming covers album, due early next year.

Calexico serves as the backing band on a number of tunes, with artists like My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Willie Nelson and the Byrds’ Roger McGuinn chipping in on vocals.

The sequenced track list for the soundtrack has not yet been finalized, but it will feature the following songs:

“All Along the Watchtower,” Eddie Vedder and the Million Dollar Bashers
“As I Went Out One Morning,” Mira Billotte
“Ballad of a Thin Man,” Stephen Malkmus and the Million Dollar Bashers
“Billy,” Los Lobos
“Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window,” the Hold Steady
“Can’t Leave Her Behind,” Stephen Malkmus and Lee Ranaldo
“Cold Irons Bound,” Tom Verlaine and the Million Dollar Bashers
“Dark Eyes,” Iron & Wine and Calexico
“Fourth Time Around,” Yo La Tengo
“Goin’ To Acapulco,” Jim James and Calexico
“Highway 61 Revisited,” Karen O and the Million Dollar Bashers
“I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine,” John Doe
“I Wanna Be Your Lover,” Yo La Tengo
“I’m Not There,” Bob Dylan
“I’m Not There,” Sonic Youth
“Just Like a Woman,” Charlotte Gainsbourg and Calexico
“Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues,” Ramblin’ Jack Elliot
“Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” Antony & the Johnsons
“The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll,” Mason Jennings
“Maggie’s Farm,” Stephen Malkmus and the Million Dollar Bashers
“Mama You’ve Been on My Mind,” Jack Johnson
“The Man in the Long Black Coat,” Mark Lanegan
“Moonshiner,” Bob Forrest
“One More Cup of Coffee,” Roger McGuinn and Calexico
“Pressing On,” John Doe
“Ring Them Bells,” Sufjan Stevens
“Señor (Tales of Yankee Power),” Willie Nelson and Calexico
“Simple Twist of Fate,” Jeff Tweedy
“Stuck Inside of Mobile With Memphis Blues Again,” Cat Power
“The Times They Are a Changin’,” Mason Jennings
“Tombstone Blues,” Richie Havens
“When The Ship Comes In,” Marcus Carl Franklin
“Wicked Messenger,” the Black Keys
“You Ain’t Goin ‘Nowhere,” Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova