KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

R.E.M. and Death Cab For Cutie Featured On Politically Charged Album

Barsuk Records will release Future Soundtrack for America on August 10, a progressive album, of which all proceeds will benefit, Music For America, Common Assets and other politically active organizations. Album organizer John Flansburgh of the indie rock band They Might Be Giants tapped such groups as, R.E.M., Death Cab For Cutie, David Byrne, Bright Eyes, Fountains of Wayne and the deceased Elliott Smith for song contributions. Many of the featured tracks have been previously unreleased. Tom Waits, however, submitted the track “Day After Tomorrow,” which can be found on his upcoming studio album, Real Gone. Additionally, the album will be included in the packaging of the book Future Dictionary Of America to be published by the literary journal, McSweeney’s.