KINGBLIND: Music, Art & Entertainment Music News, Album & Concerts Reviews, MP3's, Music Videos, Art / Entertainment and much more!

Velvets Revisit ‘Max’s Kansas City’

Rhino/Atlantic will on Aug. 3 release an expanded edition of the Velvet Underground concert album “Live at Max’s Kansas City,” chronicling what is believed to be frontman Lou Reed’s final performance with the seminal New York act. The album was originally issued in 1972 with 10 tracks, but now sports the seven additional numbers from the two-set show, taped Aug. 23, 1970. Perhaps with his imminent departure from the band in mind, Reed trotted out early Velvets tracks like “White Light/White Heat,” “I’ll Be Your Mirror” and “I’m Waiting for the Man,” plus the rarely performed “Sunday Morning” and “After Hours.” The group also unveiled material from its yet-to-be-released album “Loaded,” including “Who Loves the Sun,” “Sweet Jane” and “Lonesome Cowboy Bill.” Although the source tape is an audience recording made by a friend of the band, the new edition is said to feature much better audio fidelity than the 1972 edition. Audience chatter can be heard on several occasions, including poet Jim Carroll ordering cocktails. Carroll contributed new liner notes to the album, as did band members Maureen Tucker and Doug Yule.

Here is the “Live at Max’s Kansas City” track list:

Disc 1:

“I’m Waiting for the Man”

“White Light/White Heat”

“I’m Set Free”

“Sweet Jane”

“Lonesome Cowboy Bill”

“New Age”

“Beginning To See the Light”

Disc 2:

“Who Loves the Sun”

“Sweet Jane”

“I’ll Be Your Mirror”

“Pale Blue Eyes”

“Candy Says”

“Sunday Morning”

“After Hours”

“Femme Fatale”

“Some Kinda Love”

“Lonesome Cowboy Bill”